Home

Home > Organisation & Credentials > Internal organisation > Residents Assembly > Assemblée des Résidents

Russian translation

French translation

Assemblée des Résidents

 

Mandats

- à date d'octobre 2007

 

L'administration d'Auroville est en grande partie gérée par des groupes de travail. Bien que ceux-ci soient théoriquement habilités par l'Assemblée des Résidents ou la communauté dans son ensemble, ce que les groupes de travail respectifs font et quels sont leurs paramètres n'est pas toujours evident pour les residents. C'est pourquoi il a ete demandé aux divers groupes de transmettre un résumé de leur mandat ou un document général d'orientation concernant leurs activités.

 

Les groupes suivants ont communiqué leurs mandats /
documents d'orientation :

•  Conseil d' Auroville

•  Comité de Travail

•  FAMC

•  AVAG

•  Groupe d' Economie

•  Service des Admissions

•  Service du Logement

•  L'Avenir d'Auroville

•  Ressource et Gestion Foncière
( LRM - Land Resource &
Management)

•  Groupe de Coordination des Projets ( PCG - Project
Coordination Group)

•  Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents (Residents' Assembly
Service
)

Extrait de l’Acte de la Fondation d’Auroville :

 

18. (1) L'Assemblée des Résidents doit consister en la totalité des résidents d'Auroville qui sont à ce jour inscrits dans le registre des résidents tenu sous cette section.

(2) Le Secrétaire du Governing Board doit maintenir le registre des résidents selon les modalités qui sont prescrites, et tous ceux qui résident a Auroville et ont dix-huit ans et plus sont autorisés à avoir leurs noms inscrits dans le registre sur demande faite au Secrétaire selon les modalités .

(3) Les noms de tous les résidents, qui sont contenus dans le registre tenu par l'Administrateur désigné sous la section 5 de l'Acte d'Auroville (Dispositions d'Urgence) de 1980, doivent être considérés comme inclus dans le registre tenu sous cette section.

19. (1) L'Assemblée des Résidents doit remplir les fonctions telles que requises par l'Acte et doit, par respect, informer le Conseil d'Administration de toutes les activités qui concernent les résidents d'Auroville ;

(2) En particulier, et sans préjudice envers les pouvoirs précédents, l'Assemblée des Résidents doit :

(a) autoriser l'admission ou procéder à l'exclusion de personnes du registre des résidents en accord avec les règlements précisés sous la section 32 ;

(b) organiser diverses activités concernant Auroville ;

(c) formuler le plan directeur d'Auroville et faire les recommandations nécessaires pour la reconnaissance des organisations engagées dans des activités en lien avec Auroville pour approbation par le Conseil d'Administration ;

(d) recommander des propositions pour lever des fonds pour Auroville pour approbation par le Conseil d'Administration.

(3) Dans le but de conduire ses fonctions, l'Assemblée des Résidents doit établir les comités qu'il considère nécessaires, qui devront le représenter en relation avec les fonctions à faire exécuter par le Conseil d'Administration.

 

 

Prise de décision par l’Assemblée des Résidents

Tel qu'approuvé par l'Assemblée des Résidents le 13 août 2007

 

Suffrage universel

La prise de décision au sein de l'Assemblée des Résidents d'Auroville est basée sur le principe du suffrage universel. Cela signifie que chaque personne a le droit et le privilège de participer à la prise de décision, mais qu'il n'existe aucune obligation d'exercer ce droit.

Qu'une personne participe ou non à la prise de décision est une affaire privée. Les gens doivent être respectés pour leur participation, mais aussi pour leur décision de ne pas participer.

Il peut y avoir diverses raisons pour lesquelles une personne ne désire pas participer : par exemple elle ne se sent pas concernée par le sujet ou bien elle a une autre affaire urgente à régler ou elle préfère laisser la décision aux autres.

Le principe du suffrage universel implique que chaque Aurovilien qui désire prendre part à un vote doit être autorisé à le faire de la manière qui lui semble la plus partique. Certains préfèrent voter de chez eux via un email ou en envoyant une note signée. D'autres préfèrent assister à une réunion et y rendre leur vote. Toutes les options sont valides de façon égale.

 

 

Qui peut participer à la prise de décision ?

 

Seuls les résidents d'Auroville peuvent participer à la prise de décision.

L'Assemblée des Résidents est définie dans l'Acte de Fondation d'Auroville comme consistant en “tous les résidents d'Auroville qui ont à cet instant été inscrits dans le Registre des Résidents tenu sous cette section”, ce qui signifie tous les Auroviliens de 18 ans et plus. Il exclut ainsi les Nouveaux Arrivants, les Visiteurs à long terme et les Amis d'Auroville.

 

 

Prise de décision par consensus contre prise de décision par vote

 

Auroville préfère prendre des décisions à travers un consensus plutôt qu'à travers un vote. Ceci est basé sur notre aspiration spirituelle, et sur nos efforts de trouver une solution qui puisse satisfaire tout le monde. Néanmoins, cette tentative a parfois empêché des situations d'être résolues.

Les problèmes de la vie quotidienne ont souvent plusieurs solutions possibles, toutes aussi bonnes les unes que les autres, et fondées sur des arguments tout aussi valables.
Mais si aucun consensus n'est trouvé, le vote est nécessaire.

 

 

Réunions générales

 

A Auroville, tout le monde a l'opportunité de donner son/ses point(s) de vue à travers l'intranet.
Il est important que ces points de vue puissent être écoutes a leur juste valeur. Pour cela, il doit y avoir une ou plusieurs réunions générales où ces différents points de vue seront considérés et discutés. Tout groupe de travail ou groupe de personnes peut solliciter et organiser des réunions générales.

 


Méthode de prise de décision par l’Assemblée des Résidents

Tel qu'approuvé par l'Assemblée des Résidents le 13 août 2007

 

A. Convocation et présidence des Réunions de l’Assemblée des Résidents

1) Les réunions de l'Assemblée des Résidents sont convoquées par le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents

a. sur la demande du Comité de Travail ; ou
b. sur la demande d'un groupe de travail identifié ; ou
c. sur la demande d'au moins 60 résidents.

 

2) Le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents s'assurera que les réunions de l'Assemblée des Résidents sont convoquées avec un Agenda clair précisant l'objectif de la réunion, et la/les décision(s) auxquelles la réunion doit aboutir.

 

3) Le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents publiera l'Agenda d'une réunion de l'Assemblée des Résidents dans le News and Notes , dans AVN et dans le bulletin public des emails.

 

4) Il y aura une période minimum de 2 semaines entre la date de la publication de l'Agenda, dans le News and Notes, et la date de la réunion.
En cas d'urgence uniquement, sur décision du Working Committee, le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents convoquera une réunion dans un délai plus court.

 

5) Les réunions de l'Assemblée des Résidents sont présidées par

a. un membre du Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents

ou
b. un membre de l'Assemblée des Résidents désigné par le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents

ou
c. un membre du Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents conjointement avec un membre de l'Assemblée des Résidents désigné par elle.

 

6) Les réunions de l'Assemblée des Résidents sont normalement précédées par une ou plusieurs réunions générales durant lesquelles les points à débattre peuvent être discutés. Seule une urgence peut amener le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents à convoquer une réunion de l'Assemblée des Résidents sans que la teneur en ait été discutée lors d'une ou plusieurs réunions précédentes.

 

 

B. Votes sur propositions faites à l’Assemblée des Résidents

1) Un résident d'Auroville peut voter une proposition telle qu'elle a été exposée dans l'Agenda :

a. Par écrit : par email ou via un formulaire signé et envoyé au Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents indiquant le nom de la personne et le vote.
Un tel email ou formulaire doit être reçu par le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents au moins une heure avant la réunion de l'Assemblée des Résidents.

b. En personne : en assistant à la réunion de l'Assemblée des Résidents et en votant sur un formulaire distribué par le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents durant la réunion.

2) Le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents, assisté par trois Auroviliens choisis, vérifiera si les votes soumis (par écrit ou lors de la réunion de l'Assemblée des Résidents) sont bien de résidents d'Auroville et les comptera. Ils s'assureront aussi qu'un vote ne soit pas compté deux fois, par écrit et lors de la réunion de l'Assemblée des Résidents.

3) La/les personne(s) présidant l'Assemblée des Résidents annoncera/ront les résultats du vote durant la réunion des que tous les votants présents à la réunion auront été comptés et les noms des résidents votants auront été vérifiés. La/les personne(s) présidant annoncera/ront alors le décompte des votes qui auront été soumis par écrit au Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents en faveur de et contre une proposition, et annoncera/ront les totaux de tous les votants par écrit et durant la réunion.

4) Si la/les personne(s) présidant décident qu'il y a des complications avec le décompte des votes, les résultats seront annoncés dans le bulletin public par email le jour suivant.

 

C. Prise de décision sur propositions

La/les personne(s) présidant la réunion de l'Assemblée des Résidents déclarera/ront une proposition acceptée par l'Assemblée des Résidents si :

1) Le nombre total des votants – par écrit et lors de la réunion de l'Assemblée des Résidents – est d'au moins 10 % du nombre de résidents tel qu'enregistré dans le Registre des Résidents au moment de la réunion ;

2) Un minimum de 50 % des votants est favorable à la proposition.

 

D. Notes de réunion et enregistrement des votes

1) Le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents compilera les déclarations des votes concernant une décision particulière de l'Assemblée des Résidents dans l'ordre alphabétique des noms des résidents et s'assurera que les enregistrements des votes sont correctement archivés.

2) Le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents s'assurera que toutes les réunions de l'Assemblée des Résidents sont enregistrées et que ces enregistrements sont correctement archivés.

3) Le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents est responsable de la rédaction des procès-verbaux des réunions de l'Assemblée des Résidents et de la publication de ces procès-verbaux dans le News and Notes et dans le bulletin public par emails.

4) Le Service de l'Assemblée des Résidents a la responsabilité de s'assurer que les décisions de l'Assemblée des Résidents sont communiquées au Working Committee pour communication ultérieure au Secrétaire de la Fondation d'Auroville.

5) Un résident est chargé de contrôler les résultats des votes et de garder une copie de l'enregistrement de la réunion de l'Assemblée des Résidents afin de vérifier l'exactitude du procès-verbal.

 

 

 

Home > Organisation & Credentials > Internal organisation > Residents Assembly > Assemblée des Résidents

  Auroville Universal Township webmaster@auroville.org.in To the top

Home

Home > Organisation & Credentials > Internal organisation > Residents Assembly

Russian translation

French translation

Residents Assembly

 

Mandates

 

The bulk of Auroville's administration is carried out by working groups. While these are theoretically empowered by the Residents Assembly or community-at-large, it is not always clear what the respective working groups do and what their parameters are. We therefore have recently requested the various groups to give a resume of their mandate or a general policy paper pertaining to heir activities.

The following groups have given their mandates / policy papers.

From the AV-Foundation Act:

18. (1) The Residents' Assembly shall consist of all the residents of Auroville who are for the time being entered in the register of residents maintained under this section.

(2) The Secretary to the Government Board shall maintain the register of residents in such manner as may be prescribed and all the persons who are residents of Auroville and who are of the age of eighteen years and above are entitled to have their names entered in the register on an application made to the Secretary in such form as may be prescribed.

(3) All the names of residents, which have been included in the register maintained by the Administrator appointed under section 5 of the Auroville (Emergency Provisions) Act, 1980 immediately before the appointed day, shall be deemed to have been included in the register maintained under this section.

19. (1) The Residents' Assembly shall perform such functions as are required by this Act and shall advise the Governing Board in respect of all activities relating to the residents of Auroville;

(2) In particular, and without prejudice to the foregoing powers, the Residents' Assembly may-

(a) allow the admission or cause the termination of persons in the register of residents in accordance with the regulations made under section 32;

(b) organize various activities relating to Auroville;

(c) formulate the master plan of Auroville and make necessary recommendations for the recognition of organizations engaged in activities relatable to Auroville for the approval of the Governing Board;

(d) recommend proposals for raising funds for Auroville for the approval of the Governing Board.

(3) For the purpose of carrying on its functions, the Residents' Assembly may establish such committees as it may consider necessary which shall represent it in relation to the functions to be performed by the Governing Board.

 

Decision making by the Residents’ Assembly

As approved by the Residents’ Assembly of August 13th, 2007

 

Universal suffrage

Decision making in the Residents’ Assembly of Auroville is based on the principle of universal suffrage. This means that each person has the right and privilege to participate in decision making, but that there is no compulsion to exercise this right.

Whether or not a person participates in decision making is a private matter. People should be respected for their participation as well as for their decision not to participate.

There may be many reasons why a person does not want to participate: for example the topic does not interest him or her; or one has pressing business elsewhere; or one is simply satisfied to leave the decision to others.

The principle of universal suffrage implies that each Aurovilian who wants to bring out a vote should be allowed to do so in the way which is most convenient to him or her. Some people prefer to cast a vote from their homes through email or by sending a signed note. Others may prefer to attend a meeting in person and bring out their vote. All options are equally valid.

Who can participate in decision making?

Only residents of Auroville can participate in decision making.

The Residents’ Assembly is defined in the Auroville Foundation Act as consisting of “all the residents of Auroville who are for the time being entered in the Register of Residents maintained under this section,” which means all Aurovilians of 18 years and older. It excludes therefore newcomers, long-term guests and friends of Auroville.

Decision making by consensus versus decision making through voting

Auroville prefers to make decisions through consensus instead of through voting. This is based on our spiritual aspiration, and on our endeavour to find a solution that can satisfy all. However, this attempt has also sometimes blocked situations from getting resolved.

The problems of everyday life have often many possible solutions, some equally good, and backed by equally valid arguments.
But if consensus cannot be found, a solution through voting is the only way out.

General meetings

In Auroville, everyone has the opportunity to give his or her views through the intranet.
Opportunity should also be given to give these views a full and fair hearing. For this there should be one or more general meetings, where differing points of view can be considered and discussed. Any working group or group of people can call for and organize general meetings.


Method of Decision making by the Residents’ Assembly.

As approved by the Residents’ Assembly of August 13th, 2007

 

A. Calling and chairing of Meetings of the Residents’ Assembly

1) Meetings of the Residents’ Assembly are called by the Residents’ Assembly Service

a. either at the request of the Working Committee; or
b. at the request of a recognised working group; or
c. at the request of at least 60 residents.

2) The Residents’ Assembly Service will ensure that meetings of the Residents’ Assembly are called with a clear Agenda stating the purpose of the meeting, and the decision(s) to be arrived at.

3) The Residents’ Assembly Service will publish the Agenda of a meeting of the Residents’ Assembly in the News and Notes, the AVNet and on the mass bulletin of the community email service.

4) There will be a minimum period of 2 weeks between the date of the publication of Agenda of the meeting of the Residents’ Assembly in the News and Notes and the date of the meeting.
Only in emergencies, as assessed by the Working Committee, will the Residents’ Assembly Service call a meeting within a shorter period.

5) Meetings of the Residents’ Assembly are chaired by

a. a member of the Residents’ Assembly Service; or
b. a member of the Residents’ Assembly appointed by the Residents’ Assembly Service; or
c. a member of the Residents’ Assembly Service together with a member of the Residents’ Assembly appointed by it.

6) Meetings of the Residents’ Assembly are normally preceded by one or more general meetings where the topics can be discussed. Only in emergencies may the Residents’ Assembly Service call a meeting of the Residents’ Assembly without the matter having been discussed in one or more earlier general meetings.

 

B. Voting on proposals made to the Residents’ Assembly

1) A resident of Auroville can vote on a proposal as outlined in the Agenda:

a. In writing: via email or through a signed form sent to the Residents’ Assembly Service indicating the name of the person and the vote.
Such email or form has to be received by the Residents’ Assembly Service at the latest one hour before the meeting of the Residents’ Assembly.

b. In person: by attending the meeting of the Residents’ Assembly and voting on a form distributed by the Residents’ Assembly Service in the meeting

2) The Residents’ Assembly Service, assisted by three impartial Aurovilians as selected by it, will check if a person who has submitted a vote (in writing or in the meeting of the Residents’ Assembly) is a resident of Auroville and will count all votes. They will also ensure that the vote of a resident who has voted twice, in writing and in the meeting of the Residents’ Assembly, is discounted.

3) The Chairperson(s) of the Residents’ Assembly will announce the outcome of the voting in the meeting as soon as all the votes cast in the meeting have been counted and the names of the voting residents been checked. The Chairperson(s) will then also announce the count of the votes that have been submitted in writing to the Residents’ Assembly Service in favour and against a proposal, and will announce the totals of all votes cast in writing and in the meeting.

4) If the Chairperson(s) decides that there are complications with the counting of the votes, the results will be announced on the mass bulletin of the community email service the following day.

 

C. Decision making on proposals

The Chairperson(s) of the meeting of the Residents’ Assembly will declare a proposal accepted by the Residents’ Assembly if:

1) The total number of the votes cast - in writing and in the meeting of the Residents’ Assembly - is at least 10% of the number of residents as recorded in the Register of Residents at the time of the meeting; and.

2) A minimum of 50% of the votes cast is in favour of the proposal.

 

D. Notes of the meeting and voting records

1) The Residents’ Assembly Service will compile the voting statements pertaining to a particular decision of the Residents’ Assembly in alphabetical order of names of the residents and ensure that the voting records are properly archived.

2) The Residents’ Assembly Service will ensure that all meetings of the Residents’ Assembly are audio recorded and that such recordings are properly archived.

3) The Residents’ Assembly Service is responsible for making the minutes of the meetings of the Residents’ Assembly and for publishing those minutes in the News and Notes and on the mass bulletin of the community email service.

4) The Residents’ Assembly Service is responsible that decisions of the Residents’ Assembly are communicated to the Working Committee for further communication to the Secretary of the Auroville Foundation.

5) A resident is entitled to inspect the voting records and get a copy of the recording of the meeting of the Residents’ Assembly at cost price to verify the accuracy of the minutes.

 

 

 

Home > Organisation & Credentials > Internal organisation > Residents Assembly

  Auroville Universal Township webmaster@auroville.org.in To the top