Home  > Organisation & Credentials > The Auroville Foundation > The Governing Board

The Governing Board



Report of the
Governing Board-TDC meeting, April 5, 2013



Dr Karan Singh gets prestigious award

Chairman Dr. Karan Singh website

Ex-Chairman Mr. Kireet Joshi

Transcript of the speech of Dr. Karan Singh during the interaction of the Governing Board with the Aurovilians
(30th March 2006, evening)

Excerpts of the speech of
Dr. Karan Singh to the community
for AV 40th anniversary, 2008





Russian version

The Governing Board consists of seven members to be nominated by the Central Government from amongst persons who have, 

  • rendered valuable service to Auroville; 

  • dedicated themselves to the ideals of life-long education synthesis of material and spiritual researches or human unity; 

  • contributed significantly in activities that are being pursued or are envisaged to be promoted in Auroville, including activities relating to the environment, afforestation, arts and crafts, industry, agriculture, humanities, sciences and integral yoga; 

and of two representatives of the Central Government itself. 

The members, who do not live in Auroville, hold office for a period of 4 years. The Governing Board meets at least twice a year in Auroville.

The general management of the affairs of the Foundation is vested in the Governing Board. Its task is to promote the ideals of Auroville, to review and approve basic policies and programmes, to secure the proper management of all properties, to prepare the master plan and co-ordinate fundraising. Most of these functions are executed in consultation with the Residents' Assembly.

The present members:

By an official notification of the Government of India, the following persons have been nominated to the Governing Board of the Auroville Foundation for a period of four years starting October 29, 2008.

  • Dr. Karan Singh ( MP, Rajya Sabha), Chairman;
  • Ms Ameeta Mehra, Member;
  • Dr. (Smt) Aster Mira Patel (Resident Auroville), Member;
  • Ms Malini Parthasarathy, Member;
  • Ms Mallika Sarabhai, Member;
  • Shri Balkrishna Vithaldas Doshi,(Renowned Indian architect and town planner); Member;
  • Shri A.N. Jha, Joint Secretary & Financial Adviser, HRD Ministry, Member;
  • Ms Veena Ish (Dept of Higher Education), Member.

Former members include:

  • Dr. Karan Singh (ex-chairman), member Rajya Sabha;
  • Mr. Gajapati Maharaja Dibyasingha Deb, Maharaja of Puri;
  • Dr. M.S. Swaminathan (ex-chairman), Chairman M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation;
  • Dr. Kapila Vatsyayan, former Academic Director of the Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts;
  • Mrs. Bilkees Latif, Chairman Andra Pradesh Social Welfare Board;
  • Mr. Ajoy Bagchi, Director People's Commission on Environment and Development (PCED);
  • Mr. N. Krishnan, former member of the executive board of UNESCO;
  • Sri Keshav Desiraju, I.A.S., Joint Secretary (UNESCO), Ministry of HRD, GoI, joined the Board in the beginning of 2006.
  • Late Prof. V. Madhusudan Reddy, Chairman of the Institute of Future Studies;
  • Mrs. Shantadevi Malwad, writer;
  • Late Mr. Roger Anger (Chief Architect of Auroville);
  • Mrs. Aster Patel, resident member of Auroville;
  • Lt. Gen. (retd.) Ashok Chatterjee, resident member of Auroville.
  • Representatives of the Central Government have included
    • Mr. Sudeep Bannerjee;
    • Mr. S.R. Tayal;
    • Mr. Sudhir Nath.
  • Mr. Kireet Joshi (ex-chairman),former Registrar Sri Aurobindo International Centre of Education, Chairman Indian Council for Philosophical Research;
  • Dr. D.P. Chattopadhyaya, Chairman Centre of Studies of Civilisations, and former Union Cabinet Minister;
  • Dr. L.M. Singhvi, MP, eminent jurist and member of Indian Parliament, former Indian High Commissioner in the UK;
  • Dr. Subhash C. Kashyap, former Cabinet Secretary Government of India;
  • Shri V.K. Pipersenia, IAS, Joint Secretary & Financial Adviser, Dept of Secondary Education and Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development;
  • Shri C. Balakrishnan, IAS, Joint Secretary, (Planning & UNESCO) Dept of Secondary Education and Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development;
  • Mrs. Jyothi Madhok;
  • Prof. Meera Srivastava.

Home  > Organisation & Credentials > The Auroville Foundation > The Governing Board

  Auroville Universal Township webmaster@auroville.org.in To the top