Home > Organisation & Credentials > The International Advisory Council (IAC)

Last update: 19th October 2013

The International Advisory Council (IAC)



Minutes of IAC Meetings:


24th Meeting minutes, Sept 7-9,2012

23rd Meeting, April 6–7, 2012

22nd Meeting, October 12–13, 2011

21st Meeting, April 25–26, 2011

20th Meeting, November 26-28, 2010

19th Meeting, April 1-4, 2010

18th Meeting, January 3-5, 2010

17th Meeting, July 24-26, 2009

15th Meeting, February 26-27,2008

11th Meeting, February 25-27, 2006



IAC proposes an ‘executive leadership' group (AV Today March 2007)



Dr. Marc Luyckx Ghisi:
The Pioneers of Consciousness

La société de la connaissance

A downloadable book:
Au-delà de la modernité,
du patriarcat et du capitalisme







Russian version

The International Advisory Council of the Auroville Foundation consists of not more than five members, nominated by the UNESCO unit of the HRD Ministry of the Government of India from persons who in its opinion are devoted to the ideals of human unity, peace and progress. The members of the International Advisory Council meet once a year in Auroville. 

The powers of the International Advisory Council are advisory only. When giving advice to the Governing Board, the Council endeavours to ensure that the ideals for which Auroville has been established are encouraged, and that the residents of Auroville are allowed the freedom to grow and develop activities and institutions which further the aspirations and programmes envisaged in the Charter of Auroville.

Since 26th September 2013, the International Advisory Council members are as listed below:

  • Sir Mark Tully, British Indian-based journalist and commentator, born in Calcutta, has been BBC's India correspondent for 22 years, and awarded a knighthood in the British Queen's New Year's honours list in 2001;
  • Dr. Vishakha N. Desai, President Emerita of Asia Society, member of the USA's National Museum & Library Services Board, Special Adviser for Global Affairs to the US President and Professor of Practice at Columbia University, Senior Adviser for Global Policy & Programs, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation;
  • Mr. Julian Lines, Executive Director of Auroville International and President of Matagiri Sri Aurobindo Center, also serving on the Board of the Nakashima Foundation for Peace;
  • Dr. Shaunaka Rishi Das, Director of the Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies, Hindu cleric, lecturer, broadcaster and Hindu Chaplain to Oxford University; and
  • Dr.Kabir Shaikh Director of Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Education for Peace and Sustainable Development, UNESCO¹s Category 1 Institute in Asia and Pacific.

Former members of the International Advisory Council are:

  • Mr. Doudou Diène, special rapporteur to the U.N. on racism,and director of intercultural, inter-religious dialogue and peace culture at UNESCO;
  • Dr. Marc Luyckx Ghisi, a theologian, researcher in global cultural transformation; previously advisor to the presidents Delors and Santer at the European Commission;
  • Prof. Michael Murphy, California USA, co-founder and Chairman of the Board of Esalen Institute and author of four novels.
  • Ms. Mary E. King, President Global Action, Inc., Washington
  • Dr. A.T. Aryaratne, President Sarvodaya Shramadana Movement, Sri Lanka;
  • Mr. Kireet Joshi;
  • Prof. Diana Eck, Professor of Comparative Religion and Indian Studies at Harvard University;
  • Prof. Norman Myers, CMG, environmentalist;
  • Prof. Amartya Sen, Indian Nobel laureate and economist;
  • Mr. Maurice Strong, former Secretary-General UNCED;
  • Dr. Ervin Laszlo, Director World Future;
  • the late Mr. J.R.D. Tata, foremost Indian industrialist;
  • Snr. Federico Mayor, Director General of UNESCO;
  • Mr. Bertrand Schneider, Secretary General of the Club of Rome;
  • Mrs. Hanne Strong, President Manitou Foundation;
  • late Mr. Nani Palkhivala, eminent Indian lawyer.

Home > Organisation & Credentials > The Auroville Foundation > The International Advisory Council (IAC)

  Auroville Universal Township webmaster@auroville.org.in To the top