Home

Home >Auroville en bref

Auroville en bref


Italian , Russian , Korean, Spanish
French

 

Sécurité en bref

Quelques recommandations
pour votre sécurité

 

Vision

The City

Environment & Bioregion

Organisation & Credentials

Society

Art & Culture

Economy

Education

Health

Research

Journals & Media

Coming to Auroville

FAQs on Auroville

Press information


See also: A visual tour




Qu’est-ce que Auroville ?

Auroville est une cité universelle en construction pour une population pouvant atteindre 50 000 personnes originaires du monde entier.

 

Comment commença Auroville ?

Le concept d'Auroville – une cité idéale dédiée à une expérience sur l'unité humaine - apparut à la Mèredès les années 1930. Au milieu des années 1960, la Sri Aurobindo Society à Pondichéry lui suggéra qu'une telle cité devait voir le jour. Elle donna sa bénédiction. Le concept fut ensuite présenté auGouvernement de l'Inde, qui offrit son soutien et porta le projet devant l'Assemblée Générale de l'UNESCO. En 1966, l'UNESCO vota une résolution unanime reconnaissant le projet comme important pour le futur de l'humanité, affirmant ainsisonplein encouragement.

 

Pourquoi Auroville ?

Le dessein d'Auroville est de réaliser l'unité humaine – dans la diversité. Aujourd'hui, Auroville est reconnue comme la première et la seule expérience en cours internationalement soutenue sur l'unité humaine et la transformation de la conscience, également concernée par – et faisant concrètement de la recherche sur–un mode de vie durable et les futurs besoins culturels, environnementaux, sociaux et spirituels de l'humanité.

 

Quand débuta Auroville ?

Le 28 février 1968, quelque 5000 personnes se sontrassemblées près du banian au centre de la future cité pour une cérémonie d'inauguration à laquelle ont assisté les représentants de 124 nations, et de tous les Etats d'Inde. Les représentants apportèrent avec eux un peu de terre de leur pays natal ; le tout fut mélangé dans une urne en marbre blanc en forme de lotus , trônant désormais au point focal de l'Amphithéâtre. Au même moment, la Mère donna à Auroville sa Charte en 4 points.

.

Où se situe Auroville ?

Auroville est située en Inde du Sud, principalement dans l'Etat du Tamil Nadu (certaines terres font partie de l'Etat de Pondichéry), à quelques kilomètres de la Côte de Coromandel, approximativement à 160 km au sud de Chennai (anciennement Madras) et à 10 km au nord de la ville de Pondichéry.

 

Qui sont les Auroviliens ?

Ils viennent de 45 nations, sont de tous âges (depuis l'enfancejusqu'à plus de 80 ans, avec une moyenne d'âge de 30 ans), de toutes classes sociales, origines et cultures, représentantl'humanité comme un tout. La population de la cité est en constante augmentation, mais se maintient actuellement autour de2 160 personnes, dontapproximativement un tiers d'Indiens.

 

 

Vue d’ensemble du plan de la cité

 


Aire de la Paix

Au centre de la cité se tient l'Aire de la Paix, qui comprend le Matrimandir Matrimandir et ses jardins, l'amphithéâtre avec l'Urne de l'Unité Humaine qui contient le sol de 124 nations et 23 Etats indiens, et un lac qui aide à créer une atmosphèrede calme et de sérénitéet sert de réservoird'eau souterraine.

 

Zone Industrielle

Zone de 109 hectares au nord de l'Aire de la Paix, la Zone Industrielle, zone pour des industries "vertes", se concentre sur les efforts d'Auroville en faveur d'une cité auto-suffisante. Elle comprendra des industries de petite et moyenne tailles, des centres de formation, des arts et de l'artisanat, et les services administratifs de la cité.

 

Zone Résidentielle

Plus vaste des 4 zones de la cité, s'étendant sur 189 hectares, la Zone Résidentielle est bordée de parcs au nord, au sud et à l'ouest. L'accès principal vers la zone se fera par la couronneau-delà de la quellele trafic est réparti selon cinq routes radiales qui divisent la zone en secteurs de densités croissantes. Cette zone veut fournir un habitat bien harmonisé entre vie individuelle et vie collective. 55% de la superficie sera verte et seulement 45% construite, créant ainsiune densité urbaine équilibrée par la nature.

 

Zone Internationale

La Zone Internationale, une zone de 74 hectares à l'ouest de l'Aire de la Paix, accueillera des pavillons nationaux et culturels, groupés par continents. Son objectif central est de créer une démonstration vivante de l'unité humaine dans la diversité à travers l'expression du génie et la contribution de chaque nation pour l'humanité.

 

Zone Culturelle

Etalée sur 93 hectares, situéeà l'est de l'Aire de la Paix, la Zone Culturelle sera un site pour la recherche appliquée dans l'éducation et l'expression artistique. Des aménagements pour les activités culturelles, éducatives, artistiques et sportives prendront place dans cette zone.

 

Ceinture Verte

La Citéd'unrayon de 1,25 km sera entourée d'une Ceinture Verte de 1,25 km de large. En tant que zone pour des fermes biologiques, des laiteries, des vergers, des forêts et des aires de vie sauvage, cette ceinture jouera le rôle de barrière contre l'empiètement urbain, fournira une variété d'habitats pour la faune sauvage, et servira de source de nourriture, de bois, de remèdes, etc. et offrira un lieu derécréation.

Actuellement d'une superficie 405 hectares, la Ceinture Verte - bien qu'incomplète – représente un exemple de transformation réussie de terres désolées en un écosystème vibrant. Son extension future prévoyant 800 hectares supplémentaires en fera une remarquable démonstration de site pour la conservation de l'eau et du sol, de réservoir d'eau souterraine, et de réhabilitation environnementale. En tant que poumons pour la cité entière, elle complètera le processus de guérison qu'Auroville a entamé il y a quelques dizaines d'années.

Home > Auroville en bref
  Auroville Universal Township webmaster@auroville.org.in To the top

Home

Home > Auroville in brief

Auroville in brief

Hebrew, Chinese, Italian, Russian, Korean, Spanish, French, Tamil

 

Security brief

Recommendations for security

 

Vision

The City

Environment & Bioregion

Organisation & Credentials

Society

Art & Culture

Economy

Education

Health

Research

Journals & Media

Coming to Auroville

FAQs on Auroville

Press information


See also: A visual tour




What is Auroville?

Auroville is a universal township in the making for a population of up to 50,000 people from around the world.

How did Auroville begin?

The concept of Auroville - an ideal township devoted to an experiment in human unity - came to the Mother as early as the 1930s. In the mid 1960s the Sri Aurobindo Society in Pondicherry proposed to Her that such a township should be started. She gave her blessings. The concept was then put before the Govt. of India, who gave their backing and took it to the General Assembly of UNESCO. In 1966 UNESCO passed a unanimous resolution commending it as a project of importance to the future of humanity, thereby giving their full encouragement.

Why Auroville?

The purpose of Auroville is to realise human unity in diversity. Today Auroville is recognised as the first and only internationally endorsed ongoing experiment in human unity and transformation of consciousness, also concerned with - and practically researching into - sustainable living and the future cultural, environmental, social and spiritual needs of mankind.

When did Auroville start?

On 28th February 1968 some 5,000 people assembled near the banyan tree at the centre of the future township for an inauguration ceremony attended by representatives of 124 nations, including all the States of India. The representatives brought with them some soil from their homeland, to be mixed in a white marble- clad, lotus-shaped urn, now sited at the focal point of the Amphitheatre. At the same time the Mother gave Auroville its 4-point Charter.

Where is Auroville?

Auroville is located in south India, mostly in the State of Tamil Nadu (some parts are in the State of Puducherry), a few kilometres inland from the Coromandel Coast, approx 160 kms south of Chennai (previously Madras) and 10 kms north of the town of Puducherry.

Who are the Aurovilians?

They come from some 45 nations, from all age groups (from infancy to over eighty, averaging around 30), from all social classes, backgrounds and cultures, representing humanity as a whole. The population of the township is constantly growing, but currently stands at around 2,160 people, of whom approx one-third are Indian.

 

Overview of the city plan

peace area industrial zone international zone cultural zone residential zone green belt

Peace Area

At the centre of the township lies the Peace Area, comprising the Matrimandir and its gardens, the amphitheatre with the Urn of Human Unity that contains the soil of 121 nations and 23 Indian states, and a lake to help create an atmosphere of calm and serenity and to serve as a groundwater recharge area.

 

Industrial Zone

A 109-hectare area to the north of the Peace Area, the Industrial Zone, a zone for "green" industries, is focused on Auroville's efforts towards a self-supporting township. It will contain small and medium-scale industries, training centres, arts and crafts, and the city's administration.

 

Residential Zone

The largest of the four city zones, comprising of 189 hectares, the Residential Zone is bordered by parks on the north, south and west. Main access to the zone will be through the crown road with further traffic distribution via five radial roads that divide the zone into sectors of increasing densities. This zone wants to provide a well-adjusted habitat between individual and collective living. 55% of the area will be green and only 45% built surface, thereby creating an urban density balanced by nature.

 

International Zone

The International Zone, a zone of 74 hectares to the west of the Peace Area, will host national and cultural pavilions, grouped by continents. Its central focus is to create a living demonstration of human unity in diversity through the expression of the genius and contribution of each nation to humanity

 

Cultural Zone

Planned on a 93-hectare area, situated to the east of the Peace Area, the Cultural Zone will be a site for applied research in education and artistic expression. Facilities for cultural, educational, art and sports activities will be located in this zone.

 

Green Belt

The city area with a radius of 1.25 km. will be surrounded by a Green Belt of 1.25 km width. As a zone for organic farms, dairies, orchards, forests, and wildlife areas, this belt will act as a barrier against urban encroachment, provide a variety of habitats for wildlife, and serve as a source for food, timber, medicines etc. and as a place for recreation.

Presently an area of 405 hectares, the Green Belt - though incomplete - stands as an example of successful transformation of wasteland into a vibrant eco-system. Its further planned extension with an additional 800 hectares will make it into a remarkable demonstration site for soil and water conservation, ground water recharge, and environmental restoration. As lungs for the entire township, it will complete the healing process that Auroville started several decades ago.

Home > Auroville in brief
  Auroville Universal Township webmaster@auroville.org.in To the top